Released on August 31, 2023 - 4:02pm

As of today’s date, August 31st, the following candidates have been certified by the City of Laurel Board of Election Supervisors:

Candidates for Mayor

  • Seeta Deonauth
  • Martin Mitchell
  • Brencis D. Smith
  • Keith R. Sydnor
  • Sophady Uong

Candidates for At-Large Council Seat

  • Christine M. Johnson
  • Enrico A. McCleary, II, Esq.
  • Adrian G. Simmons

Candidates for City Council Ward 1

  • Carl W. DeWalt
  • James W. Kole
  • Connie Lucas
  • Stephen J. Wallace

Candidates for City Council Ward 2

  • Kyla Clark
  • Melvin Lindsley
  • Thomas E. Matthews, Jr.  
  • Jeffrey Mills

This is the final list of candidates who have been certified by the Board. Questions, please contact Sara Green at 301-725-5300, x2121.



City Seal


The Department of Communications provides useful information of public interest and importance to the community, residents and businesses within the city limits, as well as the greater Laurel area.