Released on August 29, 2023 - 1:53pm

As of today’s date, August 29th, the following candidates have been certified by the City of Laurel Board of Election Supervisors:

Candidates for Mayor

  • Seeta Deonauth
  • Brencis D. Smith
  • Keith R. Sydnor
  • Sophady Uong

Candidates for At-Large Council Seat

  • Christine M. Johnson
  • Enrico A. McCleary, II, Esq.
  • Adrian G. Simmons

Candidates for City Council Ward 1

  • Carl W. DeWalt
  • James W. Kole
  • Stephen J. Wallace

Candidates for City Council Ward 2

  • Kyla Clark
  • Melvin Lindsley
  • Thomas E. Matthews, Jr.  

There are approximately three (3) people who have filed that have not yet been certified by the Board.

For more information, contact City Council Clerk Sara Green at [email protected] or call 301-725-5300 x2121.

City Seal


The Department of Communications provides useful information of public interest and importance to the community, residents and businesses within the city limits, as well as the greater Laurel area.