Released on July 3, 2013 - 4:47pm
Jul 03

The City of Laurel was one of several dozen cities and towns in the State of Maryland to recently earn designation as a Maryland Municipal League (MML) Banner City/Town. This is the sixth consecutive year that Laurel has received this honor, which has been earned each year since the program’s inception. Only seven other municipalities share this particular distinction.  The program was developed in 2007.

Cities and towns across Maryland were presented with this honor at the annual Maryland Municipal League Convention in Ocean City, Maryland.  The program formally recognizes those communities that demonstrate a commitment to MML programs and activities through the involvement of their elected and appointed officials. There are minimum requirements to earn the designation, including participation and attendance at chapter meetings, participation in the annual convention and fall conference, and participation in other defined service criteria.

“We are pleased to be recognized as a Banner City for the sixth straight year. Earning this designation in itself is quite an accomplishment, but to do so consecutively is a tribute to not only our local elected officials, but the city staff, as well” said Laurel  Mayor Craig Moe. “Participation in MML gives us an opportunity to exchange ideas with all cities and towns in Maryland and to discuss and share best practices of municipal government. “

In addition, Laurel Councilmember Donna L. Crary was re-elected as an At-Large Member to MML’s Board of Directors. She is currently serving on the Laurel City Council representing Ward 2. The Maryland Municipal League is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of elected and appointed officials from throughout the state. Board members are elected at the Maryland Municipal League's annual business meeting in June and serve one-year terms. The Board meets six times during the year unless a special meeting is called.

Ms. Crary will continue on a Laurel tradition of service to the City and Maryland’s 157 towns and cities. Prior Board members from the City of Laurel include Past President Mayor Craig A. Moe (2009-10) and Past President of the Maryland Municipal Clerks, Kimberley A. Rau. Executive Assistant to the Mayor, LouAnn Crook was also elected as Vice-President of the Maryland Municipal Clerks at this year’s meeting. Members of the City and City Council have all been active participants in MML’s Committee structure throughout the years. 

MML was founded in 1936 and represents 157 municipal governments and two special taxing districts in Maryland. A voluntary, nonprofit, nonpartisan association controlled and maintained by city and town governments, MML works to strengthen the role and capacity of municipal government through research, legislation, technical assistance, training and the dissemination of information for its members. MML is the only statewide organization in Maryland composed solely of municipal officials and devoted to the promotion of all branches of municipal administration.


City Seal


The Department of Communications provides useful information of public interest and importance to the community, residents and businesses within the city limits, as well as the greater Laurel area.