City of Laurel Historic District

Old Time Photo of Main Street

About the Historic District

Historical Districts Map 2018 (PDF)The City of Laurel Historic District consists of seven individual, but contiguous districts as established in Sec.11-2 of the City of Laurel Municipal Code. Located in the northernmost part of the City, all of these districts fall under the design review authority of the Historic District Commission. Visit the Maryland Association of Historic District website. There you can find helpful resources such as contractor information, design guidelines, and much more!

Contributing or Non-Contributing Resources

Historic districts usually include a mix of "contributing" and "non-contributing" resources:

  • Contributing resources are houses, churches, commercial structures, or other buildings that add to the significance of the district.
  • Non-contributing resources do not add to the significance of the district.
  • Find out which one your house is by viewing the Contributing or Non-Contributing Addresses (PDF) list.

Historic District Guidelines

Although the Commission is the final determinant in the issuance of an HDC Certificate of Approval, their decision is rendered in the context of the Historic District Commission Design Guidelines, as listed in Art. I, Div. 14 of the Unified Land Development Code. These guidelines are intended to allow for a variety of choices for individual projects yet still maintain the integrity of the Historic District as a whole.

View the Historic District Design Guidelines (PDF)

Historic District Survey